CLUB EPO-SKI
info@eposki.com
Home ReviewsPhotos Booking Travel info Contact Links Sponsors Health tips Ski rules
2017 Alleghe San Valentino 20162015 20142013 2012 20112010 2009

ST. VALENTIN AUF DER HAIDE 2017

Friday 10 March - Sunday 19 March

WITH CLUB EPO - SKI TO: AUSTRIA , ITALY and SWITZERLAND

Oostenrijk

Italie

Zwitserland

For English version click here

PARTICIPANTS: 34

ROYAL CLASS COACH
1) Touringcar chauffeurs: Arie Klop & Wim Huisman ( Outward journey )
2) Touringcar chauffeurs: Arie Klop & Arend van Bakkem ( Return journey )
3) Your host: Karel Schuurmans

01 Piet Aalders
02 Marja Allen
03 Rod Allen
04 Ina Boerstoel
05 Marinus Cupido
06 Monique Cupido
07 Marc De Groen
08 Jan - Carel De Groot
09 Ronald De Groot
10 Dirk Jan De Jong
11 Cynthia De Jong
12 Maarten Franken
13 Jos Hooimeijer
14 Sandra Kolijn
15 Ron Kolijn
16 Tobias Kosicki
17 Astrid Lambertz

St.Valentin

18 Alain Lombard
19 Klaus Ludwig
20 Marietta Ludwig
21 Fleur Roomer
22 Jacqueline Roomer
23 Jan Roomer
24 Remco Roomer
25 Roos Roomer
26 Saskia Roomer
27 Rob Schroot
28 Karel Schuurmans
29 Mieke Schuurmans
30 Ann Vanrolleghem
31 Eline Van Stralen
32 Beli Vollering
33 Jan Vollering
34 Gerben Zuurveld

St.Valentin

San Valentino alla Muta (Sankt Valentin auf der Haide)

vrijdag 10 maart - zondag 19 maart 2017

Organisator:
Karel Schuurmans, bijgestaan door echtgenote Mieke

Deelnemers, per tafel:

Voorbereiding

In 2016 waren er 2 reisbestemmingen: Alleghe en Malga Ciapela, beide in de Dolomieten en met de bus maar een kwartier van elkaar verwijderd.
Toen riep Karel al, dat in 2017 naast Alleghe de tweede reisbestemming San Valentino. zou worden. Daar was hij met het EPO al eerder geweest, en dat was goed bevallen. "Het is er veel luxer, met zwembad, jacuzzi en winkels in de omtrek. Dat is toch wel een goede reden voor jullie echtgenotes om nu wel mee te gaan".
Met de nodige overtuigingskracht hebben we onze vrouwen inderdaad zover gekregen. Rod Allen met Marja, Klaus met Marietta, Jan Vollering met Beli en ik (Ronald) met Agostina. De dames willen gaan wandelen, af en toe een gezellig terrasje pikken en winkelen, want ze durven niet meer te skiën.

Een maand voor de reis krijg ook ik het benauwd. Als 70 - jarige nog op de latten en dan ook nog met diehards als Mieke en Karel, die bovendien al een week eerder in Alleghe hebben kunnen voorskiën.
Daarom eerst maar een beetje inskiën op Snowworld in Zoetermeer. Met korting vanwege leeftijd en mijn lidmaatschap bij de Ned. Ski Verzekering, kan ik daar voor bijna € 20, - terecht. Een uur lang, inclusief ski's en schoenen. Maar het is wel even wennen. Een baan is dit jaar verlengd. Daar hangt dan ook de waarschuwing: "Pas op, alleen voor gevorderden!".

Alles loopt goed af, en als ik naar huis rijd, zie ik in Voorburg een bekende bus: Die van Pasteur. Nu ook voorzien van een sticker met EPO - Ski - Club. Dan pas dringt het tot me door, dat die bus voor de reis naar Alleghe bestemd is. Even later zie ik hem voor het huis van Karel en Mieke stoppen. Als ik toeter zie ik oude bekenden zwaaien: de chauffeurs Arie en Willem. Dozen met drank, aluminium kisten, met naar alle waarschijnlijkheid illegale inhoud, staan op de stoep om te worden ingeladen. Maar ik kan daar niet te lang staan want achter me wordt geclaxonneerd.

Vrijdag 10 maart 2017

Veertien dagen later is het voor ons ook zover. Vrijdag 10 maart staan we op het EPO - terrein. Het nieuwe gebouw nadert nu zijn hoogste punt. We begroeten alle bekenden, onbekenden zijn er niet. In plaats van Agostina gaat zoon Jan - Carel (JC) mee. "Als mantelzorger voor zijn vader", zegt hij. Hij is vanmiddag uit Dublin overgekomen. Dat waardeer ik natuurlijk enorm. Is blij dat hij zijn vrienden van verleden jaar ziet. De bus arriveert. Arie en Willem met ook de familie Schuurmans aan boord, halen ons op en we vertrekken op het afgesproken tijdstip: 17uur30. Voor het diner deze keer niet richting Moers, maar naar Stein (Limburg). Nu geen lopend buffet, maar een heus menu. Na een goede maaltijd en bij de bus een demonstratie tai - chi - oefeningen van Tobias, gaan we verder.
Het weer is goed en er zijn geen files. In de slaapstand kunnen de stoelleuningen verder naar achter dan we gewend zijn. Echt "royal class". Wel als nadeel dat, als je nog rechtop aan het lezen bent, je het hoofd van je voorbuurman op schoot hebt. Gelukkig snurkt deze niet. In de nacht twee tussenstops en dan 's morgens om 7uur het ontbijt in een restaurant in Oostenrijk ( bij Bruggner Stub'n in Landeck ). Onaangekondigd, maar het restaurant kan het aan. Daarna zetten we Willem ergens af . Arie blijft met zijn bus bij ons en zal voor ons vervoer naar de diverse skigebieden zorgen.

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

Zaterdag 11 maart 2017

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

Nog 2 uur rijden en dan komen we zaterdagochtend om 11 uur op de plaats van bestemming aan: Hotel Ortlerspitz in San Valentino (Italië), 20 km van de Oostenrijkse grens. We boffen, onze kamer is al gereed. Op de vierde verdieping, met balkon en prachtig uitzicht op de bergen. De kamer is ruim en de TV heeft zelfs Nederlandse (alleen lokale) zenders.
Na het uitpakken van onze bagage gaan JC en ik het dorp in. In het dorp zijn verscheidene hotels, maar gezellige terrasjes ontbreken en er is geen winkel te zien. Dat wordt straks moeilijk voor de dames.
Maar het weer is stralend en de lift naar de piste ligt op maar 5 minuten loopafstand. De helling is indrukwekkend en veel steiler dan de 20 graden van Snowworld. De Alpen hier doen niet onder voor de Dolomieten. Net zo imposant.
Sandra en Ron gaan naar de Haidersee (op 10 minuten loopafstand). Sandra om te schaatsen en Ron om te "snowkiten". Het ijs blijkt te slecht om te schaatsen, maar het skiën hangend aan een vlieger gaat uitstekend. Als we terugkomen staan er in het hotel hartige hapjes klaar. Maar ik heb trek in een "Apfelstrudel". Ook dat kan worden geregeld. Alles gratis, op de drankjes en cappuccino na. Daarna ontdekt JC in de tuin een whirlpool. Alleen de kap eraf halen en we kunnen erin. Heerlijk warm. Dan komt Arie met een paar cocktails ons verwennen en voegt zich bij ons. Goed uit te houden zo, met uitzicht over de Haidersee.
Na de buitensauna en het binnenzwembad gaan we naar de skiverhuur. Zes dagen ski's, snowboard en schoenen voor zo'n €120, - p.p. Op onze vraag waar de andere winkels zijn, legt de eigenaar ons uit, dat die in een verderop gelegen plaatsje liggen: Mals. En in Merano (een uur verder) zijn er nog meer.

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

APRÈS - SKI AT IT'S BEST !!
Saturday afternoon , 11 March 2017

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

Vandaag hebben wij alleen wat gelopen, maar de andere helft van onze groep is al op deze eerste dag gaan skiën. Laat op de avond blijkt er in de kelder van het hotel een disco aan de gang te zijn. Arie, JC en ik gaan ook naar binnen. We krijgen een stempel op onze hand en we wagen ons aan een biertje. Allemaal jongelui uit de naaste omgeving. Na ons vertrek gaat het zeker nog tot 3 uur 's nachts door. Buiten horen we dan nog hun geroep en het geluid van vertrekkende scooters.

Zondag 12 maart 2017 - Haideralm - Schöneben

We mogen "uitslapen", dat wil zeggen om 8 uur al aan het ontbijt en 9.15 uur bij de skilift. Onze groep bestaat uit: Mieke, Karel, Klaus, Astrid, Ina, Jan V., JC en Ronald. De pistes blijken inderdaad behoorlijk steil en van rustig aan beginnen is geen sprake. De gehuurde ski's zijn breder dan ik gewend ben. Ook te breed voor de rekken van de "eitjes" (overdekte skiliften voor 6 personen). "Raceski's", zegt Mieke. Dat maakt me er niet geruster op. Tussen de middag probeer ik ze om te ruilen. "Alle ski's zijn nu breed", zegt de verhuurder. "je moet er maar aan wennen". Wel kan Astrid haar schoenen omruilen voor betere.

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.ValentinNa de lunch gaan we met de lijnbus naar Schöneben (Belpiano). Daar zijn de pistes veel vlakker, maar de snelheid van de skiërs is daar veel hoger. JC raken we kwijt, maar blijkt zich uitstekend te hebben vermaakt met het supersnelle koppel Alain en Eline.
Na het skiën vinden het zwembad en het buitenbubbelbad gretig aftrek. We moeten nu zelfs op onze beurt wachten.

In het zwembad herken ik Sandra op een ligstoel niet direct. Met kleren is dat toch gemakkelijker.
Om 19.00 uur is er het galadiner. Naast de elegante hoge hakken van Mieke steken de gezondheidssandalen van Karel daar erg bij af. Maar boven tafel ziet alles er perfect uit. Het 7 - gangen diner is voortreffelijk. Het is niet te veel, want de twee amuses zijn meegeteld.

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

Maandag 13 maart 2017 - Solda - Sulden

Vroeg ontbijten, omdat onze EPO - bus om 8.30 uur al vertrekt naar de gletsjer van Solda (Sulden (It), niet te verwarren met Sölden in Oostenrijk). Weer een helder blauwe lucht en vanaf de top van de piste (3250m) een prachtig uitzicht op de Ortler .

Er zijn voor deze busreis zes groepen:

Het was een superdag op deze gletsjer. Om 16 uur vertrekt de bus en een uur later gaan Rod en ik het zwembad in. Daarna is het bubbelbad en de buitensauna aan de beurt. Dan komt er in onze sauna een charmante dame binnen die ons vriendelijk "Guten Tag" zegt . Ze doet zonder gêne haar kamerjas uit en komt bloot naast ons liggen. Rod en ik durven alleen maar voor ons uit te kijken en te praten over koetjes en kalfjes. Dan wordt het ons toch te heet en zeggen we "Auf Wiedersehen" en gaan we de frisse buitenlucht in.

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

Na het weer sublieme diner en de goed gekozen wijn nemen we een afzakkertje in de bar. De verwarmde "supergrappa" is favoriet. Als we het over helikopterskiën hebben blijkt Klaus een geweldige ervaring te hebben met een helikoptervlucht boven New York. Hij zou dat ook hier in de bergen graag willen meemaken. Had hij dat nu maar niet gezegd. We maken het niet te laat, want morgen moeten we vroeg op om naar Serfaus in Oostenrijk te gaan.

Dinsdag 14 maart 2017 - Serfaus - Fiss - Ladis

Om 8.30 uur gaan we op weg naar Oostenrijk. Onderweg zien we prachtige bergen en dalen. In de plaats Fiss nemen we de "eitjes" richting Serfaus. Remco moet op ski's zijn kinderen meenemen naar het kinderparadijs, omdat dat nog een piste verder ligt. Serfaus blijkt heel populair te zijn bij de Nederlanders. Het is dan ook drukker dan we gewend zijn. En weer schijnt de zon volop. Met als enig nadeel dat de pistes 's middags steeds papperiger worden. Dat maakt het skiën zwaar, want met die zachte bückels is het moeilijk draaien.

 

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

De meeste van ons vallen daardoor wel een keer. We moeten elkaar met opstaan helpen, doordat we steeds wegzakken in de zachte sneeuw.
Klaus valt ook. Astrid en Mieke helpen hem weer overeind, en wij skiën verder. Maar we hebben niet gezien, dat hij na het opstaan in elkaar zakt. Hij is door zijn knie gegaan en zijn knieschijf is helemaal opzij geschoven. Astrid blijft bij hem en Mieke laat het skiliftpersoneel inlichten en komt ons daarna waarschuwen over het ongeval.

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

We zien dat een sneeuwscooter de verkeerde afslag neemt. Blijkbaar doordat de verkeerde piste is doorgegeven. Daarop skiet Mieke naar beneden om de juiste informatie te geven. Eenmaal gearriveerd acht de reddingsdienst de blessure te ernstig om Klaus in een "banaan" over de talloze hoge bückels op deze piste te vervoeren en wordt er een helikopter opgeroepen. Een deel van de piste wordt afgezet om het landen mogelijk te maken. Een half uur later zien we de helikopter weer opstijgen en met Klaus vertrekken.

Na deze traumatische ervaring zijn we nogal van slag en skiën we voorzichtig richting bus en vertrekken we naar ons hotel. Daar krijgen we weer een uitstekende maaltijd. We nemen koffie in de lounge. En dan komt Klaus op krukken binnen. Been in het gips, knie helemaal kapot, maar gelukkig geen pijn. "Prachtig uitzicht gehad in de helikopter", zegt hij. Niets horen we over zijn golfwedstrijden die nu niet kunnen doorgaan, of over stoppen met wintersport. Fijn om zo'n optimist te zijn!

Woensdag 15 maart 2017 - Serfaus - Fiss - Ladis

We gaan weer naar het gebied van Serfaus, maar nu naar het deel tussen Fiss en Ladis. Nog onder de indruk van gister doen we voorzichtig aan met skiën. We lunchen op een zonovergoten terras en genieten wat langer van een schitterend uitzicht over de bergtoppen.
Terug bij de bus blijken ook de anderen eerder te zijn opgehouden. Ze zitten in Fiss verdeeld over verschillende terrassen. Alleen Marinus missen we nog. Monique staat ongerust te wachten. Hij blijkt een afslag te hebben gemist.
Via Nauders rijden we terug naar San Valentino. We rijden langs de Reschensee (Lago di Resia), een stuwmeer, waar we de kerktoren van het verdronken plaatsje Alt - Graun boven het ijs zien uitsteken.
Eenmaal in het hotel gaan JC en ik meteen naar het wellnesscentrum om onze spieren te ontspannen. Mieke en Ann laten zich door een masseuse behandelen. Daarna genieten we weer van een geweldig goed verzorgde maaltijd, waarbij we kunnen kiezen uit een menu met lamsrug of zeeduivel.

    St.Valentin St.Valentin St.Valentin

Donderdag 16 maart 2017 - Nauders

Op naar het skigebied van Nauders. Niet zo ver, dus kunnen we een half uurtje later opstaan. Bovenaan de piste in Nauders zien we geen Mieke en Karel. Even paniek, want nu moeten we zelf onze weg proberen te vinden. Astrid neemt de leiding. Ze leeft zich helemaal uit en laat Ina en mij alle liften en afdalingen zien.
Alle andere EPO - skiërs zijn we onderweg tegengekomen, maar Karel en Mieke houden zich goed schuil.
De pistes liggen er schitterend bij en zijn in het algemeen heel breed, wat maakt dat je ondanks de vele skiërs toch ruimte genoeg hebt. Astrid skiet heel fanatiek voor ons uit, maar gunt ons toch de tijd voor de koffie en de lunch. Als beloning krijgen we tot slot een bombardino. Iedereen is op tijd bij de bus en kunnen we op tijd, 16.30 uur, vertrekken. Daarna snel naar het zwembad en dan buiten het bubbelbad in.
Deze keer proberen we daar ook nog het blote - voeten - pad uit. Verder ontdekken we binnen nog een Turks stoombad met ernaast sauna's en rustkamers.

Na de ontspanning en een overheerlijk en verfijnd diner volgt die avond een wijnproeverij:

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

wijn

    St.Valentin St.Valentin St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

Vrijdag 17 maart 2017 - Nauders - Samnaun - Ischgl

Dankzij de gunstige ligging, niet ver van het Drielandenpunt Landeck, hebben we de keuze tussen drie landen:

Alain gaat in de namiddag met zijn groep rodeln. Arie zou meegaan, maar wordt door zijn baas gebeld daar absoluut niet aan mee te doen. Het risico is te groot en hij kan in zo een kort tijdbestek niet makkelijk een reservechauffeur vinden. Alain wordt tweede door iedereen omver te sleeën en Ron wordt eerste dankzij zijn techniek met buikligging en door een muur langs de afgrond te nemen. Alles loopt goed af, ook voor Sandra en JC.

Op een terras onderaan de skilift genieten we van het zonnetje. Als we willen afrekenen blijkt Jan Roomer alles al te hebben betaald. Jan (75j) is de oudste onder ons en skiet nog zonder problemen van de zwarte pistes af. Hij maakt deel uit van een ware commune: vrouw Jacqueline met haar broer Jan - Dirk en diens vrouw Cynthia, kleindochters Fleur en Roos met hun ouders Saskia en Remco. Verder Marinus, alias "opa Fluit", de vader van Saskia, met oma Monique. Opa Fluit heet zo omdat hij dwarsfluit speelt. Dat hij muzikaal is blijkt ook in de bus wanneer hij met zijn kleindochters gaat zingen. Daarmee is de commune nog niet compleet, want ook de peetooms Rob en Piet horen daarbij. Kortom een heel gezellige groep. Dan vertrekken we met de EPO - bus naar ons hotel Ortlerspitz, waar ons weer een uitgelezen diner wacht. Een hele week in Italië en daar geen keer pasta gegeten! Daarna om 21.30 uur mogen we het fameuze vuurwerk van Karel bewonderen. Marc helpt hem bij het aansteken. Dit keer met toestemming van de burgemeester. Het halve dorp loopt uit om dit geweld te aanschouwen.

Zaterdag 18 maart 2017

Voor 10.00 moeten we onze kamers hebben leeg gemaakt. De bagage zetten we in de kelder. Het merendeel gaat vandaag nog skiën. Maar Mieke, Karel, JC en ik nemen de lijnbus naar Nauders. 's Middags begint het te regenen en gaan we schuilen in een heel chique hotel, ( Hotel Mein Almhof ) waar we enkele Prosecco's nemen. JC ontdekt daar een poolbiljart en weet ons te overtuigen mee te doen. We vergeten de tijd en missen de bus. Dan nog maar een spelletje.

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

Toch zijn we op tijd terug voor het afscheidsmaal. Dit keer een simpele doch grote schnitzel, maar met een uitstekende, door de EPO Ski Club aangeboden wijn. Om 19.00 uur heeft Arie alles ingeladen en gaan we op pad. Onderweg halen we de tweede chauffeur op, die niet Arie maar Arend heet. Het wordt een nacht met veel regen, gelukkig werken de ruitenwissers goed.

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

Zondag 19 maart 2017

Om 7.00 uur zijn we in Stein voor het ontbijt. Alles loopt voorspoedig en om 10.15 uur komen we bij het EPO - gebouw aan. De regen is inmiddels opgehouden.

Conclusies

St.Valentin

Auteur: Ronald de Groot

 

 

 

 

NIET SKIËR ERVARINGEN

Verslag van Rod Allen
Vertaling door Marja Allen

Al sinds 2003 gaan we met tussenpozen , met of zonder onze zoons, met de EPO ski - reis mee. We hebben een hoop plezier gehad en goede vrienden gemaakt. De laatste keer dat we met de EPO meegingen was naar Malga Ciapela in 2012, 5 jaar geleden. Daar besloten we dat onze ski dagen grotendeels over waren en verdeelden we de week tussen een beetje skiën, lekker zitten en het uitzicht bewonderen en wandelen, meestal berg afwaarts, met gebruikmaking van de handige bus route tussen Malga Ciapela en Alleghe. Het winkel aanbod was beperkt in Malga Ciapela, maar uitgebreider in het dichtbijgelegen prachtige Sottoguda en, 20 minuten verderop met de bus, in Alleghe. Omringt door fantastische uitzichten, te beginnen met de ongelooflijke Marmolada, de Civetta vanaf het Fertazza berg restaurant, de ijs beklimmers in de Sottoguda berg kloof en Sottoguda zelf. Onze camera's hadden het druk!

Na 5 jaar misten we de uitzichten over de bergen, de sneeuw en vooral de kameraadschap van de EPO groep waarvan we de meesten vrij goed kennen. Het is ook belangrijk om er even tussen uit te gaan aan het eind van de winter, hopelijk met wat zon in de bergen. Alhoewel we niet van plan waren te skiën in San Valentin hoopten we foto's te kunnen maken, van de bergen te genieten , wat wandelingen te maken en wat te winkelen. Toen Karel aankondigde dat de 2de EPO (Elderly People Organized - Georganiseerde Oudere Mensen) reis dit jaar zou plaatsvinden in het betere (dan Hotel Roy) hotel in San Valentino in Zuid Tirol in plaats van in de Dolomieten, leek dit een ideale mogelijkheid om onze kennismaking met de bergen te hernieuwen. Dus we besloten het te proberen. Onze indruk van het gebied in Zuid Tirol stak niet gunstig af in vergelijking met de Dolomieten.

De aanrijroute door de Reschen Pas was interessant, maar niets vergeleken bij die naar Alleghe of Malga Ciapela. Het dorpje San Valentin was landschappelijk niet indrukwekkend en een beetje grauw. Het omliggende gebied was open en de bergen veraf. Door de afwezigheid van restaurants, terrasjes en winkels moesten we duidelijk verder zoeken. Een interessant gegeven is dat de Duitse invloed duidelijker aanwezig is in Zuid Tirol dan in de Dolomieten.
Het hotel was inderdaad een verbetering ten opzichte van Hotel Roy, vooral in de ontspannings faciliteiten met sauna's, een whirlpool en een zwembad. Het bar gedeelte was beter dan in Hotel Roy, maar leek gedurende de dag soms wel een kleuterschool. De lunch - en après - ski hapjes waren zeer welkom en het eten in de eetzaal was uitmuntend. Onze kamer was ruim, schoon en op de 4de verdieping met een prachtig zuidwaarts uitzicht over de Haidersee en, misschien zo'n 10 kilometer verderop, de Ortlerspitz.

Ontspannen in onze kamer en op het balkon werd verstoord door de nabijheid van de drukke doorgaande weg net buiten het hotel, met een voetganger oversteekplaats voorzien van een zoemer die je niet kon negeren.

Faciliteiten in San Valentin waren er niet. De enige winkels, behalve de ski verhuur/verkoop, waren Sonja's minimarkt en de Spar. De andere accommodatie in San Valentin was in het goedkope segment, dus dat hielp ook niet.
De beste bevoorradings winkel was een kilometer lopen buiten het dorp. Deze winkel (Curnis Market) was goed voorzien van wijn, kaas, ham, worstjes etc. Er was een VVV 300 meter van het hotel. Daar ontdekten we dat je de ski - bus moest nemen die heen en weer rijdt tussen de plaatselijke Haideralm ski - liften en de iets betere faciliteiten (zo heb ik me laten vertellen) in Schöneben, 10 kilometer verder op. Een weekkaart voor de ski - bus kost maar € 2. -
De andere transport mogelijkheid was busroute 273 die heen en weer reed tussen Nauders (in Oostenrijk) en Mals in Zuid Tirol ,10 kilomer verderop. Een enkeltje naar Mals kostte € 2. - per persoon. Ook een koopje.
De hele week, behalve de laatste dag, was zonnig en warm. De laatste dag veranderde de motregen in meer gestadige regen en het was koud. We bleven in het hotel om de geblesseerde Klaus gezelschap te houden en te lezen.

De uitstapjes die we maakten waren:

  1. Een wandeling tegen de richting van de klok in rond de Haidersee, het meer bij het Ortlerspitz Hotel. We maakten deze wandeling met Marja, ikzelf, Mariëtta Ludwig en Arie Klop, de gezellige bus chauffeur die een dag vrij was. Het begin van de wandeling was op een goed onderhouden pad aan de westzijde van het meer. Na een kilometer of zo verslechterde het pad tot een gedeeltelijk bevroren ijs weg/pad. Het was erg glad en we wensten dat we onze hiking - stokken bij ons hadden om ons te helpen. Aan het eind van de westelijke oever liep de route naar het zuiden van het meer toe, maar dit was voor ons niet begaanbaar waardoor we niets anders konden dan naar de drukke doorgaande weg te lopen wat erg onaangenaam was. Na 1.5 km langs de weg konden we terug naar de rand van het meer aan de oost zijde, maar hier was het pad vol met half gesmolten sneeuw en erg modderig. In totaal 8 kilometer en 2.5 uur. Na de wandeling de heerlijke buffet lunch in het hotel en een bezoek aan het wellness centrum voor het zwembad, de hot - tub en de Alm Sauna.
  2. We namen de 200 meter verderop gelegen Haider Alm Ski Gondola naar het pitoreske midden station waar we geluncht hebben. Een van de winter wandelingen zou vanaf het midden station moeten starten, maar wij konden het begin niet vinden. We concludeerden dat de eerste paar honderd meter ook de ski afdaling was, dus konden we niet aan deze wandeling beginnen.
  3. We namen de ski - bus naar Graun aan de oost zijde van de Reschensee. Graun is klein, mooi en de plaats van de verdronken kerktoren die je op alle toeristen plaatjes ziet. We liepen naar Reschen (5 km) over een goed onderhouden pad, gedeeltelijk langs de weg en gedeeltelijk langs het meer. We hebben heerlijk geluncht in "See Hotel am Lago", waar ze een fantastisch terras hadden met uitzicht over de Reschensee. De ski - bus bracht ons weer terug naar Graus waar we konden winkelen in de Spar en de kerk en een toeristen winkel konden bezoeken.
  4. Een wandeling vanaf het hotel door San Valentin (rommelig en oninteressant) naar de dam aan de zuid kant van de Reschensee. We wandelden rustig terug naar San Valentin via Plagott. Een ongeveer 4 km niet erg interassante wandeling over de weg.
  5. We namen bus 273 naar Mals. Lunch in Hotel Grief. De St.Benedict kerk was gesloten, maar de grootste kerk was open en we zagen een dienst die bezig was. Het stadje was mooi met een aantrekkelijk oud centrum. Een toeristen winkel waar we niets konden vinden van onze gading en een "Winkel van Sinkel" waar Marja haar verzameling Italiaanse slippers kon aanvullen. Een drankje in de bar naast het bus/trein station en weer terug naar San Valentin.
  6. Er zijn nog wat meer plaatselijke wandelingen mogelijk, maar geen daarvan lokte ons bepaald aan. Er is een goed toegeruste delicatessen winkel, een kilometer van het hotel langs de doorgaande weg, maar bereikbaar via zijwegen en dan weer terug naar het hotel langs het meer, nu in een wat drogere toestand.

Al met al hadden we een plezierige week met (overwegend) fantastisch weer. De vakantie ging op de bekende, goede EPO - manier, goed gezelschap, geweldig eten in het hotel en heerlijke wijnen. Karel organiseerde een fantastische wijn proeverij waar we de " Primitivo di Manduria" ontdekten, een van de lekkerste wijnen die ik ooit gedronken heb. Ik kon de Duitse presentatie niet volgen, maar de wijn sprak uitstekend voor zichzelf. Ik heb ontdekt dat "Perfectewijn.nl" deze wijn ook levert € 22.95 per fles, wat een betere prijs is dan de € 25.50 die plaatselijk gevraagd werd. Samenvattend moet gezegd worden dat dit geen goede bestemming was voor een wintersport vakantie voor niet - skiërs, hoewel we een fijne week hebben gehad. Karel had gelijk; "Hotel Ortlerspitz" was beter dan "Hotel Roy", maar de omgeving van San Valentin was teleurstellend en de mogelijkheden voor niet - skiërs beperkt. We hadden geluk dat het zulk goed weer was.

Wandelaars

Wandelaars

soldaMonday, 13 March 2017

Each day off to a new exciting ski location with CLUB EPO - SKI
Italy: SULDEN am ORTLER - SOLDA - Participants: 24

01 Piet Aalders
02 Ina Boerstoel
03 Marc De Groen
04 Jan - Carel De Groot
05 Ronald De Groot
06 Dirk Jan De Jong
07 Cynthia De Jong
08 Maarten Franken
09 Jos Hooimeijer
10 Ron Kolijn
11 Sandra Kolijn
12 Tobias Kosicki

13 Astrid Lambertz
14 Alain Lombard
15 Klaus Ludwig
16 Jacqueline Roomer
17 Jan Roomer
18 Rob Schroot
19 Karel Schuurmans
20 Mieke Schuurmans
21 Ann Vanrolleghem
22 Eline Van Stralen
23 Jan Vollering
24 Gerben Zuurveld

soldaTuesday, 14 March 2017

Each day off to a new exciting ski location with CLUB EPO - SKI
Austria: SERFAUS - FISS - LADIS - PARTICIPANTS: 30

01 Piet Aalders
02 Ina Boerstoel
03 Marinus Cupido
04 Monique Cupido
05 Marc De Groen
06 Jan - Carel De Groot
07 Ronald De Groot
08 Dirk Jan De Jong
09 Cynthia De Jong
10 Maarten Franken
11 Jos Hooimeijer
12 Ron Kolijn
13 Sandra Kolijn
14 Tobias Kosicki
15 Astrid Lambertz

16 Alain Lombard
17 Klaus Ludwig
18 Fleur Roomer
19 Jacqueline Roomer
20 Jan Roomer
21 Remco Roomer
22 Roos Roomer
23 Saskia Roomer
24 Rob Schroot
25 Karel Schuurmans
26 Mieke Schuurmans
27 Ann Vanrolleghem
28 Eline Van Stralen
29 Jan Vollering
30 Gerben Zuurveld

soldaWednesday, 15 March 2017

Each day off to a new exciting ski location with CLUB EPO - SKI
Austria: SERFAUS - FISS - LADIS - PARTICIPANTS: 30

01 Piet Aalders
02 Ina Boerstoel
03 Marinus Cupido
04 Monique Cupido
05 Marc De Groen
06 Jan - Carel De Groot
07 Ronald De Groot
08 Dirk Jan De Jong
09 Cynthia De Jong
10 Maarten Franken
11 Jos Hooimeijer
12 Ron Kolijn
13 Sandra Kolijn
14 Tobias Kosicki
15 Astrid Lambertz

16 Alain Lombard
17 Fleur Roomer
18 Jacqueline Roomer
19 Jan Roomer
20 Remco Roomer
21 Roos Roomer
22 Saskia Roomer
23 Rob Schroot
24 Karel Schuurmans
25 Mieke Schuurmans
26 Ann Vanrolleghem
27 Eline Van Stralen
28 Gerben Zuurveld

soldaThursday, 16 March 2017

Each day off to a new exciting ski location with CLUB EPO - SKI
Austria: NAUDERS - PARTICIPANTS: 28

01 Piet Aalders
02 Ina Boerstoel
03 Marinus Cupido
04 Monique Cupido
05 Marc De Groen
06 Jan - Carel De Groot
07 Ronald De Groot
08 Dirk Jan De Jong
09 Cynthia De Jong
10 Maarten Franken
11 Jos Hooimeijer
12 Ron Kolijn
13 Sandra Kolijn
14 Tobias Kosicki
15 Astrid Lambertz

16 Alain Lombard
17 Fleur Roomer
18 Jacqueline Roomer
19 Jan Roomer
20 Remco Roomer
21 Roos Roomer
22 Saskia Roomer
23 Rob Schroot
24 Karel Schuurmans
25 Mieke Schuurmans
26 Ann Vanrolleghem
27 Eline Van Stralen
28 Gerben Zuurveld

soldaFriday,17 March 2017

Each day off to a new exciting ski location with CLUB EPO - SKI
Austria: NAUDERS - PARTICIPANTS: 21

01 Piet Aalders
02 Ina Boerstoel
03 Marinus Cupido
04 Monique Cupido
05 Jan - Carel De Groot
06 Ronald De Groot
07 Dirk Jan De Jong
08 Cynthia De Jong
09 Ron Kolijn
10 Sandra Kolijn
11 Alain Lombard
12 Fleur Roomer

13 Jacqueline Roomer
14 Jan Roomer
15 Remco Roomer
16 Roos Roomer
17 Saskia Roomer
18 Rob Schroot
19 Karel Schuurmans
20 Mieke Schuurmans
21 Eline Van Stralen

Friday,17 March 2017

Each day off to a new exciting ski location with CLUB EPO - SKI
SAMNAUN - Participants: 6

01 Marc De Groen
02 Maarten Franken
03 Jos Hooimeijer
04 Tobias Kosicki
05 Ann Vanrolleghem
06 Gerben Zuurveld

solda

Silvrt

English version

San Valentino alla Muta (Sankt Valentin auf der Haide)

Friday 10th - Sunday 19th of March, 2017

Organizer: Karel Schuurmans, assisted by his wife Mieke.

Participants, per table:

Preparation:

In 2016 there were 2 travel destinations: Alleghe and Malga Ciapela, both in the Dolomites and only 15 minutes apart by bus.

Even then Karel was saying that apart from Alleghe the second destination in 2017 would be San Valentino. He'd been there with the EPO before and it had been very enjoyable. "There's much more luxury there, with a swimming pool, jacuzzi and shops in the vicinity. That has to be a good reason for your wives to join us this time." After some persuasion we did get our wives to join: Rod Allen with Marja, Klaus with Mariëtta, Jan Vollering with Beli and me (Ronald) with Agostina. The ladies want to go walking, visit a nice little terrace from time to time and go shopping, because they don't dare ski anymore.

A month before departure I also get a little worried. Skiing, as a 70 - year old and then also with die - hards like Karel and Mieke, who on top of that have had a head - start by skiing in Alleghe a week earlier.
That's why I'll be rekindling my skiing at Snowworld in Zoetermeer first. With a reduction because of my age and my membership of the Dutch Ski Insurance they can accommodate me for just under € 20, - for a whole hour, including skis and shoes. But it does take a bit of getting used to.
One ski run has been lengthened this year. That's why there is a warning sign there: "Attention! Only for advanced skiers!"
Everything turns out alright and when I drive home I see a familiar coach in Voorburg: it's one of Pasteurs, now also fitted with an EPO - Ski - Club sticker. That's when I realize that this coach is meant for the trip to Alleghe. A while later I see it stop in front of Karel and Mieke's house. When I toot I see old acquaintances waving: the drivers Arie and Willem. Boxes with drink, aluminium crates, with in all probability illegal contents, are on the pavement ready to be loaded. But I can't stay there too long, because behind me they are tooting.

Friday, March 10th 2017

A fortnight later it's our turn. Friday, March 10th we're at the EPO site. The new building is reaching its highest point. We greet all our acquaintances, there isn't anyone we don't know. Instead of Agostina my son Jan - Carel (JC) joins me. "As a carer for his father", he says. He flew in from Dublin this afternoon. Of course, I appreciate this enormously. He's happy to see his friends from last year.
The coach arrives. Arie and Willem, with also the Schuurmans family on board, come and collect us and we leave at the agreed time: 17.30. For dinner this time not to Moers, but to Stein in Limburg. No buffet dinner this time, but a menu served at the table. After a good meal, and a tai - chi - exercises demonstration by Tobias at the bus, we carry on. The weather is good and there are no traffic jams. In the sleep position the backs of our seats go further back then we are used to. Truly "Royal Class". The disadvantage however is that, if you're still upright reading, you've got the head of the person in front in your lap. Fortunately he doesn't snore.

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

Two stops during the night and then at 7 o'clock in the morning breakfast in a restaurant in Austria. Unannounced, but the restaurant can cope. Next we drop Willem off somewhere. (Landeck). Arie and his coach stay with us and he'll take care of our transportation to the various ski areas.

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

Saturday, March 11th 2017

Another 2 hours' drive and we arrive at our destination on Saturday morning at 11 o'clock: Hotel Ortlerspitz in San Valentino (Italy), 20 km from the Austrian border. We're lucky, our room is already available. On the 4th floor, with a balcony and a beautiful view of the mountains. The room is spacious and the television has even got Dutch, (only local) channels.
After unpacking JC and I go into the village. There are several hotels, but nice terraces there are not and there isn't a shop in sight. That's going to be difficult for the ladies later on. But the weather is beautiful and the gondola to the ski - runs is only a 5 minutes' walk away. The slope is impressive and much steeper than the 20% gradient of Snowworld. The Alps here are no less impressive than the Dolomites. Sandra and Ron go to the Haidersee at 10 minutes walking distance. Sandra to go skating and Ron to go "snowkiting". The ice turns out too poor quality for skating, but skiing, hanging from a kite, works very well.
When we return to the hotel, there are savoury snacks waiting for us. But I fancy an "Apfelstrudel".
That can also be arranged, all for free, except for the drinks and cappuchino after. After that JC discovers a whirlpool in the garden. We just need to take the hood off and we can get in. Wonderfully warm. Then Arie turns up to spoil us with a few coctails and joins us in the whirlpool. This is certainly no punishment, with a view over the Haidersee..

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

After the outside sauna and the indoor pool we go to the ski rental place. Six days rental of skis, snowboard and shoes for about € 120, - per person. When we ask where the other shops are, the owner explains they are in a village further on, Mals. And in Merano, an hour further still, there are some more.
Today we only did a bit of walking, but the other half of our group has been skiing already on this first day.
Late in the evening there turns out to be a disco going on in the cellar of the hotel. Arie, JC and I also go in. We get a stamp on our hand and we try a beer. Nothing but youngsters from the direct vicinity. After we leave all this continues till at least 3 in the morning.
Outside we hear them shouting and the sound of leaving scooters.

Sunday, March 12th 2017

We can have "a lay in", that is to say breakfast at 8 o'clock and at the ski lift at 09.15. Our group consists of: Mieke, Karel,Klaus, Astrid, Ina, Jan V., JC and Ronald. The ski - runs turn out to be rather steep indeed and taking it easy to begin with is impossible. The skis I rented are wider than I'm used to. They're also too wide for the gates of the "eggs" (covered ski - lifts for 6 people).
"Racing skis", says Mieke. That doesn't make me feel any better.
At lunchtime I try to change them. "All skis are wide now", says the man from the rental shop. "You'll have to get used to it." However, Astrid can change her boots for better ones. After lunch we go to Schöneben (Belpiano) by local bus. Here the ski - runs are much less steep, but the speed of the skiers is higher. We lose JC, but he turns out to have been having a great time with the super - fast couple Alain and Eline.
After the skiing the swimming pool and the outdoor whirlpool are very much in demand. We even have to wait our turn now. In the swimming pool I don't immediately recognize Sandra. With clothes on this is easier. At 19.00 there is a gala dinner. Next to Mieke's elegant high heels, Karel's comfortable health - sandals don't compare very favourably. But above the table everything looks perfect. The 7 - course meal is excellent and not too much, because it included the 2 amuses.

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

Sunday morning: Haideralm Beautiful weather !

Monday, March 13th 2017

An early breakfast, because our EPO - bus is leaving at 08.30 for the Solda glacier (Sulden, Italy), not to be confused with Sölden in Austria. Again, we have a clear blue sky and from the top of the ski - run (at 3250m) we have a wonderful view of the Ortler.

For this bus trip there are 6 groups:solda

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

We had a super day on this glacier. At 16.00 the bus leaves and an hour later Rod and I go to the swimming pool. Next we go to the whirlpool and outside sauna. A charming lady walks into the sauna with a friendly "Guten Tag". Without embarrassment she takes off her dressing gown and lies next to us, quite naked. Rod and I only dare to look straight ahead of us as we talk about this and that. But then it gets too hot for us after all, so we say "Auf Wiedersehen" and get outside into the fresh air. After another scrumptious meal and the well - chosen wine, we have a nightcap in the bar. The warm "super grappa" is a favourite. When we are talking about helicopter skiing, Klaus turns out to have had a wonderful experience with a helicopter ride above New York. He would love to experience this here in the mountains too. He shouldn't have said that ... We don't make it too late, because tomorrow we are up early again to go to Serfaus in Austria.

    St.Valentin St.Valentin St.Valentin

Tuesday, March 14th 2017 solda

At 08.30 we leave for Austria. Along the way we see beautiful mountains and valleys. In Fiss we take the "eggs" towards Serfaus. Remco has to take his kids to the children's paradise on skis, because that's one ski - run further on. Serfaus turns out to be very popular with the Dutch. Therefore it's busier than we are used to. And again the sun is shining brilliantly, with the only disadvantage that the ski - runs get more and more porridgy in the afternoon. That makes for heavy skiing, because turning on these soft bückels is difficult.
Because of this, most of us have a fall at some time. We have to help each other get up, because we keep sinking into the soft snow.
Klaus also has a fall. Astrid and Mieke help him up and we ski on. But what we didn't see was that he collapsed after he'd got up. His knee gave way and the knee - joint had moved completely to one side.
Astrid stays with him while Mieke makes sure the ski - lift personnel get informed and then comes over to warn us about the accident.

    St.Valentin St.Valentin St.Valentin

We see that a snow scooter takes the wrong turning, apparently because the wrong ski - run was mentioned. Upon which Mieke skis down to give the right information.
On arrival the rescue service considers the injury too severe to warrant transportation in "a Banana" over the numerous high bückels on this slope and they call up a helicopter. Part of the slope is closed off to make it possible to land. Half an hour later we see the helicopter take off and leave with Klaus.
After this traumatic experience we are rather shaken up and ski carefully towards the bus and we leave to go back to the hotel.
There we have another excellent meal. We have coffee in the lounge and then Klaus comes in on crutches. Leg in plaster, knee to bits, but fortunately no pain. "I had a wonderful view from the helicopter", he says. We hear nothing about the golf matches that now can't take place or about giving up winter sports. Nice to be such an optimist!

Wednesday, March 15th 2017

We go back to the Serfaus area, but now to the part between Fiss and Ladis. Still very aware of yesterday's events we take it easy with the skiing. We have lunch on a sun - drenched terrace and enjoy the beautiful view over the mountain tops a little longer.
Back at the coach we find that the others have also stopped earlier. They're in Fiss, distributed over the various terraces. We only miss Marius. Monique is anxiously waiting. He missed a turn as it turns out.
Via Nauders we drive back to St. Valentino. We drive past the Reschensee (Lago di Resia), a storage lake, where we can see the church tower of the drowned village of Alt - Graun stick up from the ice.
Once back at the hotel, JC and I go straight to the wellness center to relax our muscles, Mieke and Ann have a massage.
Afterwards we enjoy a wonderfully well executed meal again with a choice from the menu of lams - back or sea - devil.

Thursday, March 16th 2017

On to the ski area of Nauders. Not so far off, so we can get up half an hour later. At the top of the ski - run in Nauders we don't see Mieke and Karel. A little panic breaks out, because now we have to try and find our own way down. Astrid takes charge. She's throwing herself at it with full enthusiasm and shows Ina and myself all the lifts and descents.
Along the way we have seen all the other EPO - skiers, but Karel and Mieke remain illusive. The ski - runs are in a wonderful condition and mostly very wide, which means you have enough room in spite of the many skiers. Astrid skis quite fanatically ahead of us, but allows us time for coffee and lunch. As a reward we get a Bombardino at the end. Everyone arrives at the bus in time and we can leave on time: 16.30.
Then quickly to the swimming pool and then outside to the whirlpool. This time we also try out the bare - feet - path. Inside, we also discover a Turkish steam bath, with saunas and resting rooms next to it.

After the relaxation and a sumptuous and refined dinner there is a wine - tasting this evening: - A delicious white wine:

wijn

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

Friday, March 17th 2017

Thanks to the favourable location, not far from the 3 - countries point at Landeck, we have the choice between 3 countries:

Alain and his group are going Rodeln in the afternoon. Arie was to go with them, but he's called by his boss to absolutely not take part. The risk is too great and he can't very easily find a replacement driver at such short notice.
Alain comes second by mowing down everybody on his sledge and Ron is first, thanks to his lying - on - his - belly - technique and by taking a wall along a ravine. Everything ends well, also for Sandra and JC.
On a terrace at the bottom of the ski - lift we enjoy the sunshine. When we want to pay the bill we find that Jan Roomer has already paid for everything. Jan (75) is the oldest among us and still skies down black runs without a problem. He is part of a true commune: wife Jacqueline with her brother Jan - Dirk and his wife Cynthia, granddaughters Fleur and Roos with their parents Saskia and Remco.
Next, Marinus, "opa Fluit", Saskia's father with Granny Monique. Grandad Fluit gets his name from the fact he plays the flute. That he is musical clearly shows in the bus when he sings with his granddaughters. But the commune is not complete yet, because also Godfathers Rob and Piet belong to it. In short a really fun group. We drive with our EPO - bus to our hotel Ortlerspitz, where another exquisite meal awaits us. A whole week in Italy and not once did we have pasta! Then at 21.30 we can admire Karel's famous fireworks. Marc helps him with setting them off, this time with the consent of the Mayor. Half the village turns up to see this spectacle.

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

Saturday, March 18th

We have to vacate our rooms by 10.00. We put the luggage in the cellar. The majority of the group still goes skiing today, but Mieke, Karel, JC and I take the local bus to Nauders. In the afternoon it starts to rain and we seek shelter in a very posh hotel, ( Hotel Mein Almhof ) where we have some Proseccos. JC discovers a pool table and gets us to join in. We forget the time and miss the bus. Another game then. We're still back in time for the farewell dinner. This time a simple, but large schnitzel, and with an excellent complementary wine from the EPO - Ski - Club. At 19.00 Arie has loaded all the luggage and we're on our way. Along the way, in Landeck, we pick up the second driver, not called Arie but Arend. It's going to be a night with a lot of rain. Fortunately the windscreen wipers work well.

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

St.Valentin

Sunday, March 19th 2017

At 07.00 we are in Stein for breakfast. Everything goes smoothly and we arrive at the EPO building at 10.15. Meanwhile it has stopped raining.

Conclusions:

Ronald

Author: Ronald de Groot
Translation EN: Marja Allen.

 

 

Non - Skiers Experience

Report by Rod Allen

We have been coming on the EPO ski trip with and without our sons off and on since 2003. We have had a lot of fun and made some good friends. The last time we came with the EPO was to Malga Ciapela in 2012, 5 years ago. There we decided that our skiing days were mostly over and spent the week divided between a little skiing, sitting admiring the view and walking mostly downhill using the convenient bus route between Malga Ciapela and Alleghe. There was also limited shopping in Malga Ciapela but more in nearby delightful Sottoguda and 20 mins away by bus in Alleghe. Surrounded by magnificent views starting at the incredible Marmolada mountain, the Civetta from the Fertazza mountain restaurant, the ice climbing in the SottoGuda canyon and in Sottoguda itself. Our cameras were busy!

After 5 years we missed the mountain views, the snow and especially the camaraderie of the EPO group most of whom we know quite well. It's also important to have a break at the end of winter hopefully with some mountain sun. Even though we didn't intend to ski in San Valentin we hoped to take photos, enjoy the mountains and do some walking and shopping.

When Karel announced that his year the 2nd EPO (Elderly People Organized) trip would be held at an better (than Hotel Roy) hotel in San Valentin in Sud - Tirol instead of The Dolomites it seemed an ideal opportunity to re - acquaint ourselves with the mountains. So we decided to give it a try. Our impression of the Sud - Tirol area was not favourable compared to the Dolomites. The approach through the Reschen Pass was interesting but nothing like the approaches to Alleghe or Malga Ciapela. The village of San Valentin was scenically unimpressive and a little drab. The surrounding area was open and the mountains were distant. With a lack of restaurants, terraces and shops clearly we would have to look further afield. Interestingly the German influence is more pronounced in Sud - Tyrol than in the Dolomites

The hotel was indeed an improvement on the Hotel Roy, especially in the relaxation facilities with saunas, a whirlpool, and a swimming pool. The bar area was an improvement on Hotel Roy but sometimes resembled a kindergarten during the day. The lunch / apres - ski snacks were very welcome and the dining room food was superb. Our room was spacious, clean and on the 4th floor with a superb view southwards over the Haidersee lake towards the Ortlerspitz Mountain perhaps 10 km away. Relaxing in your room and on the balcony was spoilt by the proximity of the busy main road just outside the hotel with a pedestrian crossing with a buzzer that could not be ignored.

The facilities in San Valentin were non - existent. The only shops, apart from the ski - outfitters, were Sonja's minimarket and the Spar. The other accommodation in San Valentin was budget so no help there. The best supplies shop was a 1 km walk out of the village. This shop (Curnis Market)was well stocked with wine, cheese, ham and sausage etc. There was a tourist information centre 300 meters away. There we found that getting out of San Valentin was using the ski bus which shuttles between the local Haideralm ski lifts and the somewhat better facilities (so I'm told) at Schoneben, 10 km away. A weeks ski bus ticket cost a bargain€ 2. The other transport possibility was the 263 bus route which ran to and from Nauders (in Austria) and Mals in Sud Tirol (10 km away). A one way ticket to Mals cost€ 2 per person each way. Also a koopje.
All week except the last day was sunny and warm. The last day the drizzle turned to more determined rain and it was cold. We stayed in the hotel keeping the injured Klaus company and reading.

The trips out that we did were:

  1. An anti - clockwise walk round the Haidersee, the lake by the Ortlerspitz Hotel. We made this walk with Marja, myself, Marietta Ludwig and Arie Klop, the sociable bus chauffeur on one of his days off. The beginning of the walk was on a good prepared track on the west side of the lake. After a kilometre or so the track deteriorated into a partially iced road / track. This was very slippery and we wished we had hiking poles to help. At the end of the west bank of the lake the route descended to the lakeside on the south of the lake but was impassable for us which forced us on to the busy main road which was very uncomfortable. After 1.5km on the road we could get back to the lakeside on the east but this was very slushy and muddy. A total of 8 km and 2.5hours. After the walk, the delicious buffet lunch in the hotel and a visit to the wellness centre for a swim, hot - tub and the AlmSauna.
  2. We made the trip from the 200m away HaiderAlm Gondola to the picturesque middle station where we had lunch. One of the winter walks was supposed to start from the middle station but we could not find the start. We concluded that the first few hundred metres was also the ski - run so we could not start this walk.
  3. We took the SkiBus trip to Graun on the Eastern side of the Reschensee. Graun is small, pretty and home to the sunken church tower on all of the tourist pictures. We walked to Reschen (5 km) along the prepared track, partially by the side of the main road and partially lakeside. We had a great lunch at the "Zeehotel am Lago" which had a great terrace with a (distant) view of the Reschensee.
  4. The Ski bus took us back to Graus where we could shop in the SPAR, visit the church and the one tourist shop.
  5. A walk from the hotel through San Valentin (scruffy and uninteresting) to the Dam on the south side of the Reschensee. We ambled back via Plagott to San Valentin. Approximately 4km of not very interesting road walking.
  6. We took the 263 bus to Mals. We ate lunch in the Hotel Grief. The St Benedict church was closed but the main church was open and we could observe the ongoing service. The town was pretty with an old centre which was very attractive. A touristy shop where we could find nothing to buy and a "pin to a battleship" shop where Marja could renew her collection of Italian slippers. A drink in the bar next to the bus / train station and back.
  7. A few other local walks are available, none looked terribly appealing to us. There is a well - stocked delicatessen shop1 km from the hotel along the main road but approachable via side roads and back to the hotel along the lakeside, by now in much dryer condition.

All in all a pleasant week was had, the weather was superb (mostly). The trip passed in the usual good EPO - Ski manner, convivial company, great food in the hotel and tasty wines. Karel organized a great wine tasting where we discovered the "Primitivo di Manduria", one of the best tasting wines I have ever drunk. I couldn't understand the German presentation but the wine spoke magnificently.

I have discovered that "Perfectewijn.nl" stock this win at € 22,95 a bottle, which was a better price than the € 25,50 asked locally.

Wandelaars

Wandelaars

WandelaarsIn summary it has to be said, although we had a good holiday this was not a good destination for a Winter Sport non skiers holiday. Karel was correct, the hotel Ortlerspitz was better than the Hotel Roy but the surroundings in San Valentin were disappointing and the possibilities for non - skiers limited. We were lucky that the weather was so good.

Author: Rod Allen

 

 

 

Henze

Alleghe

It goes without saying that we all would convey our thanks and appreciation to the sponsors of

CLUB EPO-SKI ( HENZE AUTOBANDEN & AMICALE RIJSWIJK )

whom without may of our activities could not have been realized !!!

Everything Perfectly Organised

INFO@EPOSKI.COM